jump to navigation

One week without worry…yeah right! December 2, 2009

Posted by aydensmom in Uncategorized, Vacation.
trackback

In four days I will be leaving the country for a seven-day vacation/babymoon, since I’m expecting – but, Ayden won’t be coming.

I’m hoping I can take some time to relax and sleep, but at this point I’m so worried about something going wrong while I’m gone that it’s getting harder and harder to be excited. I’m very aware of how lucky I am to be able to leave Ayden and know beyond a doubt he will be as well attended to as he would be at home – if not better, since he’s staying with his Grandparents. It’s the unknowns that come with diabetes that scare me the most, the small fluctuations that can cause turmoil and big problems. For instance, I’m think he’s going through a growth spurt right now, which means he is eating more, and it will inevitably cause his numbers to plummet. So far his numbers have been stable, but at any moment that could change.

It comes down to my biggest fear – losing control. Since I won’t be here to control anything that is the reality I must face. Ever since Ayden was diagnosed this has been a big issue with me, I have managed it by learning and continuing to learn absolutely everything I can about diabetes. But this coping mechanism is not going to help me next week.

In the end, this will be a  great excercise for me. And I’m sure Ayden will be so spoiled and loved that he won’t want to come home when we get back. However, I don’t think the sleep and relaxation I’m hoping to get will come as easily as I want. Thank goodness for modern technology which gives me the opportunity to check in on him whenever I like and see what kind of antics he’s been up to.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - December 2, 2009

Have a great trip Lisa! You an absolutely wonderful and well informed mom. Ayden is truly blessed to have such dedicated parents and family! You deserve this break!! Enjoy yourself!!!!

2. Corinne Kilian - December 2, 2009

Have a great trip Lisa! You an absolutely wonderful and well informed mom. Ayden is truly blessed to have such dedicated parents and family! You deserve this break!! Enjoy yourself!!!!

3. aydensmom - December 3, 2009

Thanks so much Corinne!!! I hope you and your family are all doing well.

4. Lindsay Allan - December 3, 2009

Hi Lisa,

Have a wonderful time! Last year my husband and I went to Scotland for our 10 year anniversary for six days. My husband’s parents looked after our four children and of course that included looking after Zach’s diabetes as well. His numbers were good that week and I was thankful as we were on the other side of the Atlantic. 🙂 My dear Mother-in-law handled it all very well.

The first 24hours was hard but then I was able to relax…I remember eating lunch at 3pm in the afternoon in Perth, Scotland thinking WOW we didn’t have to watch the clock thinking oh Zach can’t eat right now!

I can also relate a little bit to being pregnant and looking after a child with diabetes…Zach was diagnosed in August 2006 and I became pregnant the next month…our little Jordan (now 2 1/2) is a real treasure – super active but so worth it!!!

Have fun and enjoy enjoy enjoy!


Leave a Reply

