jump to navigation

We’re back – and we’re training August 19, 2009

Posted by aydensmom in insulin pump, Uncategorized, Vacation.
Tags: ,
trackback

It was an exhausting vacation but in a good way.

Ayden learned to ride his tricycle and had a fantastic time playing with his cousins. He had some sore fingers by the end of the trip though because we were testing him on average between 8 to 10 times a day and throughout the night. He consistently ran high during the day from sugar dumps due to his extra activity but he would drop significantly at night.

Hopefully we’ll see some of the fluctuations decrease when he goes on the pump.

We had our first training session last night and it was great. However, they asked Ayden to be there. Phil spent the whole night watching and entertaining him and didn’t get to participate in the course. 

My advice for anyone with a toddler going through pump training, don’t take your child to the first session. Phil and I practiced insertions on each other so we wouldn’t have to practice on Ayden and tonight I’ll be going over as much of the course as I can remember for Phil. I guess this will help me understand more in the end.

At this point, I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. I’m not sure if it’s because we just got back from vacation and didn’t have much time to relax or if it’s because I want to understand the pump inside and out before I put it on Ayden. Either way, I’m trying to be patient and remember we still have two courses to go through.

One thing I’m really looking forward to though is being able to feed Ayden when he wants something. That was the most difficult thing I saw on our vacation. Ayden would stare at his cousins when they were eating something like ice cream . He would never ask for it but you could see in his eyes how much he wanted it.  It would just about make me cry every time. I can’t wait to be able to give it to him!!!

I’ll post pictures of our vacation tomorrow.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

